April 29, 2002 - At New York: Peace Corps Web Site nominated for Webby Award

Peace Corps Online: Peace Corps News: Headlines: Peace Corps Headlines - 2002: 04 April 2002 Peace Corps Headlines: April 29, 2002 - At New York: Peace Corps Web Site nominated for Webby Award

By Admin1 (admin) on Sunday, May 19, 2002 - 8:29 pm: Edit Post

Peace Corps Web Site nominated for Webby Award

Read and comment on this story from At New York on the nomination of the Peace Corps Web Site for a Webby Award (shown in the photo above). Our congratulations to Peace Corps and to Three Spot Media who produced the web site redesign. Read the story at:

Webby Awards Announces Nominees *

* This link was active on the date it was posted. PCOL is not responsible for broken links which may have changed.

Webby Awards Announces Nominees

By Michael Singer

The Web has become very diverse. Don't think so? Consider the list of some 140 nominees competing for The 6th Annual Webby Awards.

The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences Monday announced its short list of the best, brightest and most bizarre rest stops on the Information Superhighway.

Among the sites being considered for the Internet award: How about the Vatican and Planned Parenthood or the Peace Corps and the U.S. Army?

There are some 28 categories, including Activism, Finance, Community, Film, Travel, Personal Web Sites, Sports, Spirituality, and Weird. Nominees in NetArt and Technical Achievement will be announced Monday, May 6. A complete list of nominees is available at their home site.

"With more than 500 million people online today, we've reached a stage where the Web is part of the fabric of our lives," said Maya Draisin, the executive director of The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. "The 2002 nominees - both large and small - are setting the standards for the medium and transforming the way we live."

Winners will be announced at The 6th Annual Webby Awards, which will be held on Tuesday, June 18th, 2002 at the California Palace of The Legion of Honor in San Francisco.

In keeping with Webby tradition, winners will once again be held to a five-words-or-less acceptance speech. Last year's finest moment: "Bush volunteers, it's that easy," said VolunteerMatch founder Jay Backstrand, who won two Webby's last year.

The Sixth Annual Webby Awards also mark the debut of three new awards: The Rising Star Award, which recognizes the fastest-growing site, Top U.S. Site, and Top Global Site. In partnership with Nielsen//Netratings, these awards are determined using their Internet audience rankings for May 2002.

As evidence of a growing interest in the Webbys and the Web itself, the Academy received a record number of entries this year, with submissions coming from 36 countries. 2002 international nominees include AllAfrica.com (Mauritius-News), Debkafile (Israel-News), BBC News Online (United Kingdom-News), Freemuse (Denmark-Music), RTE Interactive Radio (Ireland-Radio), and The Vatican (Vatican City-Spirituality).

Several sites are also nominated in more than one category including: Idealist.org (Activism and Community); Beliefnet (Community and Spirituality); and Amazon.com (Best Practices and Commerce). BBC-affiliated Web sites are nominated in three categories - News, Radio, and TV.

"The 2002 nominees demonstrate that the Web is really getting back to what it does best - connecting, building communities, entertaining, and enhancing everyday life," said Webby Awards founder and director Tiffany Shlain.

For the second year in a row, the Academy will present The Best Practices Award, which recognizes a single Web site that serves as a model of excellence. This year's nominees are Google.com (2001 winner), Amazon.com, National Geographic, Peace Corps, and U.S. Army Basic Training.

The Webby Awards and People's Voice Awards voting process is audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers. (no Anderson jokes please)

Called by some the "Oscars of the Internet," The Webby Awards is an international honor for Web sites and individual achievement in technology and creativity.

The awards are presented by the Academy, a diverse, 350-person organization whose membership includes Francis Ford Coppola, David Bowie, Esther Dyson, Rob Glaser and Julia Child. The list:

ACTIVISIM: AlterNet http://www.alternet.org

CorpWatch.org http://www.corpwatch.org

Idealist.org http://www.idealist.org

PETA.org http://www.peta.org

tolerance.org http://www.tolerance.org

BEST PRACTICES: Amazon.com http://www.amazon.com

Google http://www.google.com

National Geographic http://www.nationalgeographic.com

Peace Corps http://www.peacecorps.gov

US Army Basic Training http://www.goarmy.com/basic

BROADBAND: 120Seconds.com http://www.120seconds.com

bThere http://www.bthere.tv

GUGGENHEIM.COM http://www.guggenheim.com

KaZaA http://www.kazaa.com

Oddcast http://www.oddcast.com

COMMERCE: Amazon.com http://www.amazon.com

BabyCenter http://www.babycenter.com

Cooking.com http://www.cooking.com

Travelocity.com http://www.travelocity.com

Williams-Sonoma http://www.williams-sonoma.com

COMMUNITY: BeliefNet http://www.beliefnet.com

Burning Man http://www.burningman.com

Idealist.org http://www.idealist.org

Nerve.com http://www.nerve.com

The Warren Ellis Forum http://forums.delphiforums.com/ellis

EDUCATION: eNature http://www.enature.com

Exploratorium http://www.exploratorium.org

JASON http://www.jasonproject.org

MarcoPolo http://marcopolo.worldcom.com

Students Against Testing http://www.nomoretests.com

FASHION: Hint Fashion Magazine http://www.hintmag.com

Lumiere Magazine http://www.lumiere.com

SoWear http://www.sowear.com

STYLE.com http://www.style.com

ZOOZOOM.com Magazine http://www.zoozoom.com

FILM: Donnie Darko http://www.donniedarko.com

IFILM http://www.ifilm.com

Metacritic http://www.metacritic.com

Waking Life http://www.wakinglifemovie.com

Without a Box http://www.withoutabox.com

FINANCE: 10K Wizard http://www.10kwizard.com

Financial Engines http://www.financialengines.com

marketocracy http://www.marketocracy.com

Yahoo! Finance http://finance.yahoo.com

Yodlee http://www.yodlee.com

GAMES: Banja http://www.banja.com

EA.com http://www.ea.com

Gamasutra http://www.gamasutra.com

Netbaby http://www.netbabyworld.com

PopCap Games http://www.popcap.com

GOVERNMENT and LAW: Copyright Website http://www.copyrightwebsite.com

Council on Foreign Relations http://www.cfr.org

Library of Congress http://lcweb.loc.gov

NASA http://www.nasa.gov

U.S. Geological Survey http://www.usgs.gov

HEALTH: Breast Cancer Action http://www.bcaction.org

drSpock.com http://www.drspock.com

lifeclinic.com http://www.lifeclinic.com

Planned Parenthood Golden Gate http://www.ppgg.org

teenwire.com http://www.teenwire.com

HUMOR: Fuckedcompany.com http://www.fuckedcompany.com

Heartless Bitches International http://www.heartless-bitches.com

Legodeath - A Museum of Horrors http://www.legodeath.com

SatireWire http://www.satirewire.com

The Onion http://www.theonion.com

KIDS: Channel One http://www.channelone.com

OLogy http://www.ology.amnh.org

Pinhole Spy Camera http://www.pinholespy.com

SFS Kids http://www.sfskids.com

teenwire.com http://www.teenwire.com

LIVING: Do-It-Yourself Network.com http://www.diynet.com

epicurious.com http://www.epicurious.com

greenhome.com http://www.greenhome.com

National Gardening http://www.nationalgardening.com

Time Out New York http://www.timeoutny.com

MUSIC: all songs considered http://www.npr.org/programs/asc

Freemuse http://www.freemuse.org

Hearts of Space http://www.hos.com

Live365 http://www.live365.com

LOOPLABS http://www.looplabs.com

NEWS: allAfrica.com http://www.allafrica.com

Arts & Letters Daily http://www.aldaily.com

BBC News http://www.bbc.co.uk/news

Debkafile http://www.debka.com

Poynter.org http://www.poynter.org

PERSONAL SITE: abnormalbehaviorchild http://www.abnormalbehaviorchild.com

hungry for design http://www.hungryfordesign.com

Jeff Harris http://www.jeffharris.org/

PrayStation http://www.praystation.com

The Committee to Free Lori Berenson http://www.freelori.org

POLITICS: California r Foundation http://www.calr.org

Center for Responsive Politics http://www.opensecrets.org

Political Money Line http://www.fecinfo.com

The Hill http://www.thehill.com

washingtonpost.com/OnPolitics http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/politics

PRINT and ZINES: Mr. Beller's Neighborhood http://www.mrbellersneighborhood.com

National Geographic Magazine http://www.nationalgeographic.com/ngm

ONTHERAIL http://www.ontherail.com

Salon.com http://www.salon.com

The Smoking Gun http://www.thesmokinggun.com

RADIO: BBC Radio 4 website http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4

kpig.com http://www.kpig.com

RTE Interactive Radio http://www.rte.ie/radio

Transom http://www.transom.org

Youth Radio http://www.youthradio.org

SCIENCE: Becoming Human http://www.becominghuman.org

eFunda http://www.efunda.com

Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics http://mathworld.wolfram.com

NASA Earth Observatory http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov

SciTech Daily Review http://www.scitechdaily.com

SERVICES: Embark http://www.embark.com

evite http://www.evite.com

GoToMyPC http://www.gotomypc.com

Ryze http://www.ryze.com

TicketWeb http://www.ticketweb.com

SPIRITUALITY: BeliefNet http://www.beliefnet.com

Glide Memorial Church http://www.glide.org

GraceCathedral.org http://www.GraceCathedral.org

Islamic Studies http://www.arches.uga.edu/~godlas

Vatican http://www.vatican.va

SPORTS: 2002 FIFA World Cup http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com

Backpacker.com http://www.backpacker.com

ESPN.com http://www.espn.com

San Francisco 49ers http://www.49ers.com

Surfline http://www.surfline.com

TRAVEL: IgoUgo http://www.igougo.com

Lonely Planet Online http://www.lonelyplanet.com

site59.com http://www.site59.com

travel intelligence.net http://www.travelintelligence.net

World Hum http://www.worldhum.com

TELEVISION: BBCi http://www.bbc.co.uk

CSI:Crime Scene Investigation http://www.cbs.com/primetime/csi/main.shtml

E! Online http://www.eonline.com

The Osbournes http://www.mtv.com/onair/osbournes/

Who Wants to be a Millionaire http://abc.abcnews.go.com/primetime/millionaire/millionaire_home.html

WEIRD: All Your Base Are Belong To Us http://www.planettribes.com/allyourbase/

Cut Off My Feet (Freck's New Feet) http://www.cutoffmyfeet.com

Devices of Wonder http://www.getty.edu/art/exhibitions/devices

Mind Control Forum http://heart7.net/mcf/

spamradio http://www.spamradio.com/

April 29, 2002

Some postings on Peace Corps Online are provided to the individual members of this group without permission of the copyright owner for the non-profit purposes of criticism, comment, education, scholarship, and research under the "Fair Use" provisions of U.S. Government copyright laws and they may not be distributed further without permission of the copyright owner. Peace Corps Online does not vouch for the accuracy of the content of the postings, which is the sole responsibility of the copyright holder.

This story has been posted in the following forums: : Headlines; Peace Corps Washington; Special Reports - PC on Web



Add a Message

This is a public posting area. Enter your username and password if you have an account. Otherwise, enter your full name as your username and leave the password blank. Your e-mail address is optional.