Sen. Coleman's call for accountability

Peace Corps Online: Peace Corps News: Headlines: Peace Corps Headlines - 2003: July 2003 Peace Corps Headlines: July 15, 2003 - Office of Senator Norm Coleman: Senator Norm Coleman call for "Greater Accountability" at Peace Corps : Sen. Coleman's call for accountability

By paul sack on Tuesday, July 29, 2003 - 1:49 am: Edit Post

Senator Coleman,

Your call for accountability in the Peace Corps could hardly be a more important and timely contribution to its success. Under recent and present leaders, virtually all feedback from overseas about how well or badly programs work out has been eliminated. I am a veteran of the early days of the Peace Corps when accountability was established by annual independent evaluations of programs. The only evaluations that now take place are audits of administrative procedures by the Inspector General dep't.

I have raised this issue with the current management of the Peace Corps and have even offered the services--as volunteers--of former Peace Corps country directors to conduct overseas evaluations of programs. The current leadership of the Peace Corps apparently do not want to know what works and what does not work overseas, although it is obviously impossible to manage or improve the Peace Corps without that information.

By Bill Salisbury on Tuesday, July 29, 2003 - 11:07 am: Edit Post

Though I am a current staff member of the office of Planning, Policy and Analysis (PPA) at the Peace Corps, I am writing my personal views as an RPCV here, rather than in an official capacity. (My views here do not reflect any official Peace Corps policies or perspectives.)

I attended Senator Coleman's speaking engagement at the Peace Corps and am interested to see what RPCVs write on this topic of accountability. As an RPCV and former overseas staff person, I appreciate ideas generated by those of us who have been there, done that!